Information on:

Clark's Trading Post

Clark's Trading Post
110 Daniel Webster Highway


In 1928 Florence and Ed Clark opened a roadside attraction for White Mountain travelers in Lincoln NH. "Ed Clark's Eskimo Sled Dog Ranch," featured guided tours of their pure-bred Eskimo sled dogs and artifacts from the far North. The original "Stand", or Trading Post, offered souvenirs, tonic, and maple candy to the motorists on nearby Route 3.

Florence and Ed purchased their first Black Bear in 1931. Clark's Bears acted as the perfect "stopper," a visible attraction, gaining the attention of the curious passer-by. Starting in 1949 Edward and Murray, sons of Florence and Ed, began teaching and training the bears for show work. The Clark brothers and their bears, delighted guests with a healthy dose of wit, humor, and hospitality as they entertained and educated the audience. The Bear Show was born!

Generations later, that philosophy lives on as the Clark's offer visitors the best in family entertainment and good honest fun. You can find up to 20 family members still working at the business to this day keeping the family business going. We are now on the fifth generation and hope to continue to entertain guests for years to come.

Clark's Trading Post is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media